End of term tired

Well, it’s that time of the year. I’ve had a clear out, shredding has been done, students are taking their books home.

After a long year of exam changes, new roles and supporting new staff, I have finally made it to the end of the year.

I have lots that I want to do for September, but I also need to sleep for about 36 hours. The staff room is abuzz with tales of what people are doing over summer and how much they’ll get through.

My summer? 16 days in India with 14 Senior Section members (GirlGuiding), Ireland with my best friend and then home to actually see my family.

This is the first year I’ve felt that I’ve really hit my stride with work. I know what I can mark and when. I’ve worked on upgrading and students doing more on their assessments as opposed to me writing tonnes.

I’ve taken on more outside of the classroom between GirlGuiding and Duke of Edinburgh. At times both of these have brought me loads of stress. But considering I started both from scratch in September, I’m proud of far they’ve come and I’m going to blow my own trumpet.

So here’s to a summer of relaxing. And not looking at school work until the end of August.

Whatever you’re doing over your summer, enjoy it.

Leave a comment